Gloucester County Uber/Taxi Accident Lawyer

Despite their convenience, rideshare services such as Uber and taxis have been the cause of countless accidents on the roadways. Unfortunately, along with the potential for severe injuries after such an accident, the complications of insurance around rideshare services could make seeking compensation confusing and overwhelming.

If you were hurt in an accident with a rideshare service, you might benefit from the representation of a well-versed Gloucester County Uber/taxi accident lawyer. A skilled car accident attorney could help you assess your damages and build a persuasive case for compensation.

Insurance Requirements in Gloucester County

All drivers in Gloucester County—including Uber and taxi drivers—are required to have auto insurance coverage. Under New Jersey Revised Statutes §39:6A-3, the automobile insurance coverage minimum coverage requirements in New Jersey drivers are as follows:

  • Bodily injury liability of $15,000/$30,000
  • Property damage liability of $5,000
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) of $15,000

Usually, all rideshare drivers are required to have their own auto insurance to work for such a company. Therefore, Uber and taxi drivers who do not have auto insurance coverage are not only assuming their own liability—and potentially leaving their employer liable—but are also breaking the law. A Gloucester County Uber/taxi crash attorney could go over your legal options if you find yourself injured by the actions of an uninsured rideshare driver.

Accountability Without Insurance

Rideshare companies often encourage their drivers to file auto insurance claims with their own insurance companies. However, standard insurance coverage does not generally cover incidents that occur while a driver is transporting people or goods for a fee.

This is because the car is technically a commercial vehicle, and therefore no longer covered under the personal auto insurance most pedestrian drivers own. Although Uber might say they could provide auto insurance company when a driver is utilizing their app, they often do whatever they can to avoid paying expenses to either party after a crash.

What this means—with a driver’s personal insurance company possible refusing to pay, and Uber or the taxi cab company refusing to pay as well—is that a person hurt in an accident may be led to believe that there is nothing he or she can do except pay for his or her own damages. Thankfully, this is not true, and an experienced Uber/taxi accident lawyer in Gloucester County could help explain your rights to compensation.

Liable Parties

Of course, to file a claim, an injured person must determine who may be legally liable. Often, compensation could be sought from multiple liable parties.

In these types of rideshare crash cases, a claimant may seek compensation from the driver and his or her personal insurance company, in addition to the Uber or taxi cab company and its insurance carrier. If other vehicles were involved in the accident, those drivers and their insurance carriers may also be named as defendants in a lawsuit.

Talk to a Gloucester County Uber-Taxi Accident Attorney Today

Even though many insurance companies may deny this fact, you do have legal rights after being involved in an accident with an Uber car, taxicab, or other rideshare services such as Lyft. If you are suffering from physical trauma, property damage, or financial strain after a wreck, you might benefit from speaking with a Gloucester County Uber/taxi accident lawyer.

A knowledgeable attorney could help build a case on your behalf and give you the representation you deserve when seeking compensation. To learn more about your legal rights after a crash, reach out today.